top of page

Meet Michele

About Michele:

 

I graduated from the University of Colorado in 1992 with my Bachelor's degree in Psychology. I received my Masters in Social Work from Fordham University in 2003.

During graduate school I interned at Identity House, a counseling center for the LGBTQIA population. Some of the most rewarding work I've done has been working in the New York City homeless shelter system, first working with physically disabled adults and then with dually diagnosed clients. I have been able to support clients dealing with challenges such as coping with complicated relationships and feeling “stuck” in frustrating patterns to those with more prolonged and persistent behavioral health concerns. From these experiences, I have come to believe that with help, all people, regardless of their experiences in life, have the ability to find the right answers. 

I was lucky enough to get my first break into the world of social work in 1997 while living in New York City, where I worked for a small stipend on a mobile unit to support street-based sex workers. That experience changed my life as it helped launch my entry into graduate school. I moved from Brooklyn, NY to Portland in 2006 and am proud to call Oregon my home. I take time every week year-round to be out in nature, whether it is hiking, skiing, or riding my motorcycle.

 

Additionally, I am an avid kendo player, a keeper of backyard chickens, and love to travel internationally. I identify as queer and live with my husband, cat and two school-aged children in Portland.

IMG_0205.jpg
bottom of page